Black Friday Feeder Stock-up

So, every year I say I am NOT going to go shopping on Black Friday.  It combines many of the situations I really dislike (crowds, shopping, spending money, cranky people, etc.) and puts them all in one compact package.  But this year I ventured out (after 8 am, so most of the really deal-crazed people were already done with their shopping) because the local Blain’s Farm and Fleet and Menards stores were having deals on bird-feeding supplies and I needed to stock up.  You wouldn’t think it when you start this hobby, but feeding birds (when you also end up feeding all the neighborhood squirrels by default) adds up.  So when they are advertising buy-one-get-one (BOGO) on black-oil sunflower seeds, sometimes you have to go outside your comfort zone…

I didn’t get very adventurous on the bird seed purchases, just stocked up on the staples of high-quality mixed seed, black-oil sunflower seeds, shelled and in-shell peanuts, and some suet blocks.  My biggest splurge was a new ‘squirrel-proof’ hopper-style feeder to replace my aging and squirrel chewed current feeder.  Between the smaller size of my old feeder and the amount of times I saw squirrels hanging off it, I was filling it every morning and having it be bone-dry by afternoon.  This new feeder can hold around 11 pounds of seed if I need it to, and thus far I’ve been spending far less time filling it than I was the other.  Plus, it’s metal.  I’m almost hoping to see a squirrel try to chew on it at this point…

So now my seed storage is stocked for the next month or two, I’ve got a shiny new feeder and my heated bird bath from an earlier purchase, dare I say I’m ready for the snow to fly?  I’ll admit, after seeing how many visitors I got at my feeders during that first snowfall a few weeks ago, I’m actually (almost, sort of…not really) looking forward to winter for the first time in a long while.  And if we’re snowed in, at least I know the birds will eat well.

Leave a Reply

